She was barely sixty inches tall

But her nature was a force

To be reckoned with by friend and foe alike

And by all who loved her, of course

We called her Baube, Mom, Auntie Dorothy

D’vash to my dear Dad

And though I miss her so, already

And I’m the poster child for “sad”

Her life was one of happiness

Of cookies and adventures

Who gets to live past 96 years

Without eyeglasses or dentures?

Her heart could open in the blink of an eye

She was quick to volunteer

She would have insisted on planning her own funeral

If only she were here

She could sew a dress, knit a shawl

Or hem a pair of pants

She loved the arts…and the crafts

And she loved to sing and dance

She was feisty, you might say, stubborn

She’d often push me to the edge

But she always had a big, warm hug

When I came in from the ledge

She had opinions

And she wore them on her sleeve

And she held a grudge or two or…ten

Sometimes for years, I believe

She had her own rules for playing Uno

She thought Bingo, way too hard

And she liked to yell Yahtzee! at unexpected times

Just to keep you off your guard

She was hilarious

She could always make me laugh

Some people are just funny

She was funny and a half

I know

She loved us all

Everybody felt it

She had a magical gift

To touch the coldest heart, and melt it

Don’t you feel lucky?

I know I’m grateful

For the one thing that’s crystal clear

That our lives are so much richer

Because

Dorothy Moss was here

(Joel Moss)

forever-my-momI am starting out my first blog of 2017 with words by my brother Joel Moss – he honestly pinpoints my mother so correctly here – but not only my mother – I see myself here as well!

more-like-my-mom

After reading this, I realize how much I loved this woman and wanted so much to be like her.  I tried to follow in her footsteps every chance I could even though I went through stages of denial because I am human.

someone-elses-happiness

In fact, my sons are very much like me; they crave their independence and their need to be their person that they are willing to drift away (just as I did too.)  However, just like my mother I forget that I sought my independence and needed my space.

family

Family dynamics are very strange.  We give birth and hold on to this baby and nurture the child to become an adult, and once they become an adult as much as we appreciate their independence and ours, we still have a need to hold on.

follow-your-heart

In the last 2 ½ months of my mother’s life, I had a need to spend it with her.  Before her being ill I saw her as the independent, feisty, stubborn lady who had her rules that didn’t need me.  In fact, I feared to spend time with her because I saw myself becoming a child again.  My visits were short and sweet to maintain the nurturing generous portion of our relationship.  However, when I knew she needed me, I was willing to do whatever it took, even if it meant she ‘annoyed’ me.

looking-back

Even in my mother’s last months, she was feisty and bossy, and I loved it.  She didn’t know me as much as she knew Joel, but I carved my way into the nook of her arm and laid my head on her bosom just like a young child.  I laughed along with her when she said, “who would name their baby Karen?”  and then, “what kind of a name is Kiki, she was a pain in the ass!”  My mother said she had a daughter Gittle, and I found out that Gittle was her Baube on her father’s side of the family.  Yes, mom was funny.

Mom knew who how to take a great joke and ruin it but you still laughed because she made it sound so ‘stupid’ you could do nothing more than laugh!

caring

My mother was Momma Moss to the USY kids in the 1960’s but when it was my turn to get involved, she was done, she had her reign for the Gary and Joel years.  My parents knew all my brother’s friends, and our house was always filled with teenagers coming in and out.  These teenagers were the same to mom and dad as if they were part of our family and I thought this is how it would be some day when I had children.  However, my boys are more private, and it’s not like that all…

today

Like my mother, I do touch hearts of strangers because I believe in MY I’MPOSSIBLE DREAM whether it’s for Alex’s future or for families experiencing Childhood Cancer.  It may be for someone like Rachelle King, Confessions of a Hairdresser, who wants to keep growing and share her passions with others.  And then there is Lou Kraus whose message is, Better Outcomes, learning to speak and listen to each other and not express themselves and answer without listening.  And most recently, bringing families together and sharing that age is just a number, but sometimes we must be cognizant as to what our aging family member’s needs.

secret-of-change

Home healthcare – Healthcare for the aged needs an immediate overhaul, we cannot leave our mothers, fathers, spouses in the hands of healthcare without observing the care.  Even the kindest, most patient caregiver, may not be the right person to care for your loved one.  It’s time to come together and participate in the conversation.

Follow us at: 

http://myim-possibledream.com/impossible-impossible/dvasha/

https://soundcloud.com/myimpossibledream

Tune in and listen to Alex Hale and support his Sports Radio Show on NoStaticRadio.com: http://mixlr.com/nostaticradio/showreel/after-further-review-122716/

 

 

 

 

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

