D’Vasha means Honey

Two weeks ago today we laid my mother to rest next to my father who went to his maker 12 1/2 years ago.  My mother, much like many other widows, made her way through the last years of her life, although lonely for her partner of 63 plus years.  My mother and father were sole mates yet known as the “Bickersons.”  They spent a portion of each day nudging each other over some but at the end of the day they would kiss, and all was forgotten and they made-up.  In fact, there was nothing to make up for because it was just bickering to bicker.  (Much like my husband, Richard and I!)

post

My mother’s Hebrew name was D’vasha (her English name, Dorothy).  However, I now understand the honey and sweetness that made my mother the unique individual she was.  It was my privilege to spend the 2 1/2 months of mom’s life with her.  Truly I had no idea what I was doing for her, or if I could do anything for her. And as I share my thoughts and journey through this blog it is my intention to create a dialogue and a series of seminars to bring sweetness into the lives of other families that may experience a similar journey.

Not only was I able to learn to love my mother more deeply during this period, but I also had the opportunity to spend time with my brother and connect.  I reconnected with childhood friends, and I made new friends with my mother’s caregivers who will be part of my extended family forever.  I also reconnected with my traditions, and I soon will be reaching out to a new community here at home to find my roots.

I look forward to sharing my journey with you and your connections with me.  I could not have done this had it not be for MY I’MPOSSIBLE DREAM and my son Alex. https://myimpossibledreamah.wordpress.com/

 

 

Leave a Reply

